Emalahleni informal communities cluster make submission to municipal draft IDP

May 26, 2020 | Blog, Weekly Covid19 Updates

The Emalahleni Informal Settlement Cluster (also known as MASCOM) is a coalition currently made up of 12 informal settlement communities in Emalahleni local Municipality in Mpumalanga. The communities include Coronation, Jooma Farm, Spring Valley, Five Shaft, Masakhane, Benicon, Lindokuhle, Somgodla, KaMgewana, El Paso, Magagula and Mkataneni. The objective of the cluster is to realise improved community participation, especially in informal settlement communities, in order to influence decisions at municipal level concerning our development interests.

The submission, made after the presentation by the Executive Mayor, Cllr. L.M Malatjie, titled Emalahleni Local Municipality: Draft IDP/Budget Community Outreach Presentation, dated May 2020, highlighted the following:

  • commended the Emalahleni Local Municipality for considering alternative means to consult the public in light of the constraints placed by the Covid-19 pandemic.
  • Calling on the Executive Mayor, Cllr. L.M Malatjie to expatiate on the impact of Covid-19 pandemic on municipal socio-economic profile particularly to informal settlement communities in Emalahleni.

Read more here